Rafic Beydoun

Rafic Beydoun

Chair of Pathology


Rafic Beydoun

Office Address

 Harper Professional Building – 8th Floor


Janet Watycha | 313-577-8145


Brenda Batts | 313-577-1102


Office Phone

313-745-2524 | Fax: 313-745-9299


Rafic Beydoun, M.D., is the chair of the Wayne State University School of Medicine Department of Pathology.

A member of the faculty since 2014, Dr. Beydoun is chief of Pathology at Detroit Receiving Hospital, medical director of the DMC Histology Laboratory, associate director of the DMC/WSU Pathology Residency Program and the Surgical Pathology Fellowship Program, and staff pathologist at Detroit Receiving Hospital, Harper University Hospital, Hutzel Hospital and the Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Center. In addition, he is director of the blood bank at Detroit Receiving Hospital.

He received his medical degree from the University of Damascus Medical School in 1980, followed by an internship and residency at Harasta Teaching Hospital in Damascus, and a residency at the University of Florida Medical Center, where he was named chief resident. He also completed a Surgical Pathology fellowship at the University of Pennsylvania before additional post-graduate training at the University Hospital of Wales Molecular Genetic Laboratory, the Johns Hopkins University Department of Pathology, and the University of Toronto Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology.

Certified by the American Board of Clinical and Anatomic Pathology, Dr. Beydoun is a member of the Michigan Society of Pathologists, the National Arab American Medical Association, the International Academy of Pathology (Arab Division), the College of American Pathologists and the American Society of Clinical Pathologists.

He received the Excellence in Anatomic Pathology Teaching - Resident Award, the Recognition Award for Significant Contributions to the Surgical Pathology Fellows Teaching Award, the second place prize for “An Idea That Can Change the World” from the Syrian Computer Society and the Outstanding Chief Resident Award from the University of Florida Medical Center.

← Return to listing