Joseph Uberti

Joseph Uberti

Chair of Oncology

Joseph Uberti

Office Address

Karmanos Cancer Institute


Rhonda Federspiel | 313-576-8670


Carol Paduchowski | 313-576-8208


Joseph Uberti, M.D., Ph.D., professor of Internal Medicine and chief of the Division of Hematology, is the interim chair of the Wayne State University School of Medicine’s Department of Oncology and interim leader of the Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute.

Co-director of the Blood and Marrow Stem Cell Transplant Program since 2004, Dr. Uberti is a respected leader in oncology, with a long history at the School of Medicine and Karmanos. He joined Wayne State’s faculty as an assistant professor of internal medicine, Division of Hematology/Oncology, in 1990. He has served as division head of BMT, Leukemia and Lymphoma, in the Department of Oncology, since 2010.

Dr. Uberti is the Lambert/Webber Endowed Chair and division head of Bone Marrow Transplant, Leukemia and Lymphoma for Wayne State University and Karmanos

Certified by the American Board of Medical Oncology and a diplomate of the American Board of Internal Medicine, Dr. Uberti is a member of the American Society of Bone Marrow Transplantation, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the International Bone Marrow Transplant Registry/Autologous Blood and Marrow Transplant Registry, the American Society of Hematology, the Central Society for Clinical Research and serves on the board of directors of the Michigan Society of Hematology & Oncology.

The 1983 graduate of the Wayne State University School of Medicine received his bachelor’s degree and his doctoral degree from WSU in 1973 and 1979, respectively. He completed a residency in Internal Medicine at WSU, was named chief medical resident at Detroit Receiving Hospital and completed a fellowship in Hematology and Oncology with the WSU/Harper Grace Hospitals.

Dr. Uberti’s research has been extensively funded and published, and he has trained and mentored generations of medical students and residents. He received the Teacher of the Year Award from the Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Hematology in 2006, and the Karmanos Cancer Center Director’s Research Award in 2011.

← Return to listing