Dr. Mattoo honored with President’s Award for Excellence in Service

May 17, 2017

Wayne State University President M. Roy Wilson and the Board of Governors recently recognized a longtime faculty member of the School of Medicine for his exceptional service and devotion to the university and the school.

Tej Mattoo, M.D., D.C.H., F.R.C.P., F.A.A.P., professor of Pediatrics, received the President’s Award for Excellence in Service during the March 24 meeting of the Board of Governors. A reception and dinner followed the award presentation.

In presenting the award, President Wilson said that he and the board were recognizing Dr. Mattoo for his “unwavering loyalty and dedication to pediatric medicine, the Wayne State University Department of Pediatrics and the Wayne State University School of Medicine. He has faithfully and wholeheartedly committed the highest levels of excellence and professionalism to all three, and represented the School of Medicine and the Department of Pediatrics with the utmost dignity and grace. His unflagging dedication and service to his field, to medical research, to his patients and to his colleagues represents the epitome of the level of commitment all Wayne State University faculty members should strive to achieve.”

The award is reserved for individuals who are recognized for extraordinary contributions to the university. It was last presented in 2012.

“I feel so fortunate, and am deeply honored,” said Dr. Mattoo, who also serves as chief of Pediatric Nephrology and Hypertension for Children's Hospital of Michigan.

Dr. Mattoo is a respected expert in pediatric medicine worldwide. His clinical interests include nephrotic syndrome, vesicoureteral reflux, hypertension, cystic kidney disease, and renal tubular disorders and electrolyte abnormalities.

Dr. Mattoo joined the School of Medicine faculty in 1996 as an associate professor and was promoted to the rank of professor in 2002. He has served on the WSU Academic Senate and its Research Committees, the Human Investigation Committee, the Departmental Review Committee and the Research Strategic Planning Workgroup. A member of the Budget Advisory Committee for the school, he also serves on the National Kidney Foundation of Michigan Scientific Advisory Board, the Board of Trustees of the International Association of Organ Donation, Michigan, and the PREP Nephrology Advisory Board of the American Academy of Pediatrics. He is a founding member of the Steering Committee of the Midwest Pediatric Nephrology Consortium and serves on committees for the Children’s Hospital of Michigan Foundation, the American Society of Pediatric Nephrology and the National Institutes of Health’s National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.

He has received numerous research grants, including awards from the National Institutes of Health. He has written more than 150 publications and book chapters. He has lectured extensively nationally and internationally, and is the editor of PREP Nephrology, the journal of the American Academy of Pediatrics, and section editor of UpToDate, a journal of Pediatric Nephrology.

His awards include research education, mentoring and teaching awards from Children’s Hospital of Michigan, the Wayne State University College Teaching Award; fellowship in the Royal College of Physicians; and the NephCure Foundation Award for his research on kidney diseases. He is included in America’s Top Pediatricians, Best Doctors in America, Who's Who in America and Detroit’s Top Doctors.

150 years in the heart of Detroit