Interim Chair of Neurology
4201 St. Antoine 8D University Health Center Detroit, MI 48201
Phone: 313-745-4240 | Fax: 313-745-4216 |
Assistant's Name: Meverette Simmons
Administrator's Name: Sharon Washington

Kumar Rajamani, M.D., D.M., is the interim chair of the Wayne State University School of Medicine’s Department of Neurology.

Dr. Rajamani, is an associate professor of Neurology and a member of the Comprehensive Stroke Center since 2005. He serves as program director of the Vascular Neurology Fellowship, chief of Neurology for Detroit Receiving Hospital and medical director of the Comprehensive Stroke Center for the Detroit Medical Center, received his medical degree in 1985 from BJ Medical College in Pune, India. He completed the WSU-DMC Neurology residency in 2005, and a vascular Neurology fellowship at the University of Southern California – Los Angeles, School of Medicine in 1997.

American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology-certified in Neurology and Vascular Neurology, and American Society of Neuroimaging-certified in Neurosonology, Dr. Rajamani’s special interests include carotid and intracranial atherosclerosis, antiphospholipid antibodies and cerebrovascular disorders, stroke prevention strategies and delivery of stroke care by hospital systems. He is engaged with several stroke prevention trails and is site principal investigator for several of them. He is the recipient of a grant to study differences in stroke care delivery in hospitals across Michigan.

He has consistently been listed in Best Doctors in America and Best Doctors in Michigan.