Programs

Our programs combine outstanding scientific training with state-of-the-art clinical medicine to train individuals as physician-scientists, excelling in careers in research and education.

Combined Degree

MD/PhD
Director: Daniel A. Walz, PhD, dwalz@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-9553

Doctor of Philosophy

Anatomy and Cell Biology
Director: Susmit Suvas, PhD, ssuvas@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-9820

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Director: David Evans, PhD, drevans@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-1016

Cancer Biology
Director: George S. Brush, PhD, brushg@karmanos.org, (313) 578-4300

Immunology and Microbiology
Director: T.R.Reddy, PhD, trreddy@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-1310

Medical Physics
Director: Jay Burmeister, PhD, burmeist@med.wayne.edu, (313) 576-9624

Molecular Genetics and Genomics
Director: Russell Finley, Jr., PhD, rfinley@wayne.edu, (313) 577-7845

Pathology
Director: Todd Leff, PhD, tleff@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-3006

Pharmacology
Director: Nicholas Davis, PhD, ndavis@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-8654

Physiology
Director: Steven Cala, PhD, scala@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-8734

Translational Neuroscience Program
Director: Jeffrey Stanley, PhD, jstanley@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-9090

Master of Science

Basic Medical Science
Director: George S. Brush, PhD, brushg@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-1455

Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Director: Robert Akins, PhD, rakins@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-0419

Genetic Counseling
Director: Angela Trepanier, MS, atrepani@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-6298

Medical Research
msmedicalresearch@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-1455

Molecular Genetics and Genomics
Director: Russell Finley, Jr., PhD, rfinley@wayne.edu, (313) 577-7845

MPH (Public Health Program)
Director: Kimberley Campbell-Voytal, PhD, kvoytal@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-9454

Physiology
Director: Steven Cala, PhD, scala@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-8734

Medical Physics
Director: Jay Burmeister, PhD, burmeist@med.wayne.edu, (313) 576-9617

Certification Programs

Graduate Certificate in Clinical & Translational Science
Director: Daniel A. Walz, PhD, dwalz@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-9553

Graduate Certificate in Medical Physics
Director: Jay Burmeister, PhD, burmeist@med.wayne.edu, (313) 576-9624

Graduate Certificate in Public Health Practice
Director: Kimberley Campbell-Voytal, PhD, kvoytal@med.wayne.edu, (313) 577-9454

BACK TO TOP