Co-Curricular Seminars

Students attend monthly seminars designed to personalize their experience of caring for vulnerable populations. Students gain insight by relating to people they may consider different from themselves and people who are often stigmatized as patients, including the elderly, homeless, addicted, multiply handicapped, pregnant teens and many others. These forums also provides members of stigmatized populations an opportunity to participate in the education of medical students. Required numbers of seminars vary, depending on which program a student selects to participate in.

| August | September | October | November | December | January | February | March | April |

August

Date Time Topic Location
Sat Aug 5 9:00 to 12:00 Hands on Clinical Techniques Maz 240, 242 Maz 301-308 (+Marghrio)
Mon Aug 7 12:00 to 1:00 Overview of Detroit and Clinics Opportunities Green
Tue Aug 8 12:00 to 1:30 Outreach Opportunities Green
Wed Aug 9 12:00 to 1:00 MPACOrientation Margherio
Thu Aug 10 12:30 to 1:30 CHM Orientation and mentoring opportunities Green
Mon Aug 28 12:00 to 1:00 MPAC Urban Health Policy Green
Tue Aug 29 12:30 to 1:30 Wellness seminar: Impact of Stress on Performance (mandatory for M1s) Green

Back to TOP

September

Date Time Topic Location
Tue Sep 5 12:00 to 1:00 MPAC Leadership Development Green
Sat Sep 9 9:00 to 12:00 Surviving, healing, and empowering sexual assault patients Margherio
Mon Sep 11 12:00 to 1:00 Challenges Facing Refugees Jaffar
Tue Sep 12 12:30 to 1:30 MPACTBA Green
Wed Sep 13 12:00 to 1:00 Journal Club – TBA Maz 307-308
Wed Sep 13 12:00 to 1:00 REFLECTION – Human Trafficking Maz 305-306
Wed Sep 13 12:00 to 1:00 REFLECTION– Refugees Maz 303-304
Thu Sep 14 12:30 to 1:30 Wellness Seminar – Creating Healthy Lifestyles with Small Daily Changes (co-curricular) Green

Back to TOP

October

Date Time Topic Location
Mon Oct 2 12:00 to 1:00 MPAC Primer on Health Policy & Politics Margherio
Tue Oct 3 12:30 to 1:30 MPAC New Paradigm of Team Based Care Blue
Wed Oct 4 12:00 to 1:00 Wellness seminar: Embodying Empathy (co-curricular) Green
Sat Oct 14 9:00 to 12:00 MPAC Resolution Writing Maz 301-308 (+Margherio)
Mon Oct 23 12:00 to 1:00 Music Therapy Margherio
Tue Oct 24 12:30 to 1:30 Public Health: Medical student summer externship panel presentation Margherio
Wed Oct 25 12:00 to 1:00 REFLECTION: Public Health: Medical student externship panel presentation Maz 303-304
Wed Oct 25 12:30 to 1:30 REFLECTION: Music Therapy Maz 305-306
Wed Oct 25 12:00 to 1:00 Journal Club –Homelessness Maz 307-308

Back to TOP

November

Date Time Topic Location
Mon Nov 13 12:00 to 1:00 MPACMedicaid Expansion Margherio
Tue Nov 14 12:30 to 1:30 MPACAdvocacy Training Margherio
Sat Nov 18 9:00 to 12:00 Health Disparities Margherio
Mon Nov 27 12:00 to 1:00 HIV Patient Panel Margherio
Tue Nov 28 12:30 to 1:30 Visual Thinking Ultrasound Margherio
Wed Nov 29 12:00 to 1:00 Journal Club: TBA Maz 307-308
Wed Nov 29 12;00 to 1:00 REFLECTION: HIV Maz 305-306
Wed Nov 29 12:00 to 1:00 REFLECTION: Visual Thinking Ultrasound Maz 303-304
Thu Nov 30 12:30 to 1:30 Wellness Seminar: Stress and Burnout (co-curricular) Green

Back to TOP

December

Date Time Topic Location
Sat Dec 2 9:00 to 12:00 Alternative Therapies: Art, Pets, Sensory Maz 301-308 (+Margherio)
Mon Dec 4 12:00 to 1:00 Wellness Seminar; Identification and Treatment of Eating Disorders (co-curricular) Green
Tue Dec 5 12:30 to 1:30 MPAC Integrated Mental & Physical Health Margherio
Wed Dec 6 12:00 to 1:00 Journal Club – SIGN Maz 307-308

Back to TOP

January

Date Time Topic Location
Thu Jan 4 12:30 to 1:30 MPACOpioid Crisis Margherio
Sat Jan 6 9:00 to 12:00 Cancer Panel Margherio
Mon Jan 8 12:00 to 1:00 TBA Green
Tue Jan 9 12:30 to 1:30 Homeless Panel Green
Wed Jan 10 12:00 to 1:00 REFLECTION: Homeless panel Maz 305-306
Wed Jan 10 12:00 to 1:00 REFLECTION: TBA Maz 303-304
Wed Jan 10 12:00 to 1:00 Journal Club: TBA Maz 307-308
Tue Jan 16 12:30 to 1:30 MPAC Opioid Crisis Green
Wed Jan 17 12:00 to 1:00 Wellness seminar Life after MD Green
Mon Jan 29 12:00 to 1:00 Poets for humanizing medicine Margherio
Tue Jan 30 12:30 to 1:30 Interfaith Physician Panel Green
Wed Jan 31 12:00 to 1:00 Journal Club:TBA Maz 307-308
Wed Jan 31 12:00 to 1:00 REFLECTION: Poets for humanizing medicine Maz 305-306
Wed Jan 31 12:00 to 1:00 REFLECTION: Interfaith Maz 304-305

Back to TOP

February

Date Time Topic Location
Tue Feb 6 12:30 to 1:30 MPACHealth Disparities Margherio
Wed Feb 7 12:00 to 1:00 MPAC Health Disparities Green
Thu Feb 8 12:30 to 1:30 Wellness seminar: Debt Management (mandatory for M1s) Green

Back to TOP

March

Date Time Topic Location
Mon Mar 5 12:00 to 1:00 MPAC Diversity & Inclusion Green
TueMar 6 12:30 to 1:30 MPAC Diversity & Inclusion Green
Wed Mar 7 12:00 to 1:00 Wellness seminar: Impact of Drugs and Alcohol on the Brain (co-curricular) Green
Mon Mar 19 12:30 to 1:30 World TB Green
Tue Mar 20 12:30 to 1:30 HPV Green
Wed Mar 21 12:00 to 1:00 Journal Club: TBA Maz 307-308
Wed Mar 21 12:00 to 1:00 REFLECTION: TB Maz 305-306
Wed Mar 21 12:00 to 1:00 REFLECTION: HPV Maz 303-304

Back to TOP

April

Date Time Topic Location
Tue Apr 10 12:30 to 1:30 MPACLeadership Development Green
Wed Apr 11 12:00 to 1:00 Wellness Seminar: A Place for Gratitude, Feeling Blessed and Maybe Even a Little Prayer Green
Mon Apr 16 12:00 to 1:00 Medical Relief and Aid Margherio
Tue Apr 17 12:30 to 1:30 Integrative Medicine Green
Wed Apr 18 12:00 to 1:00 Journal Club: TBA Maz 307-308
Wed Apr 18 12:00 to 1:00 REFLECTION: Emergency Medical Relief and Aid Maz 305-306
Wed Apr 18 12:00 to 1:00 REFLECTION: Integrative Medicine Maz 303-304
Thu Apr 19 12:00 to 1:00 MPACLeadership Development Green

Back to TOP

BACK TO TOP