Dr. Helen Marjorie Peebles-Meyers Symposium on African-American Women’s Health



WSUSOM Class of 1943
First African-American female graduate

Wayne State University School of Medicine – Green Auditorium
540 East Canfield
Detroit, Mich. 48201
Friday, Oct. 13, 2017
8 a.m. to 4 p.m. (breakfast and lunch included)

Audience: Those who care for African-American women

Presenters:  WSUSOM African-American alumnae

Topics: Aging Gracefully (How to Feel and Look Good), Human Trafficking, Breaking through the Glass Ceiling, Health Disparities in African-American Women 

CME Credit
The Wayne State University School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The Wayne State University School of Medicine designates this live activity for a maximum of 7 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s) TM.  Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Nursing Credit

Detroit Medical Center is an approved provider of continuing nursing education by the Ohio Nurses Association, an accredited approver by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.  (OBN -001-91) (OH-292, 5/1/2020)

Fee to attend (includes parking):
Attending physicians: $100
Nurses, social workers other allied health professionals: $50
Residents, students and community members: Free

Register for the conference here or by phone at 313-577-8243  |  Advertise in the program | Become a sponsor (by Sept. 29)

Sponsored by WSUSOM Post Baccalaureate /Black Medical Association Alumni Steering Committee, Department of Internal Medicine  and the Detroit Medical Society



First African-America Female: resident and chief resident Detroit Receiving Hospital; WSUSOM faculty; integrated private practice; chief physician Ford Motor Co.



nesbitt jenkins gibson
LaQuandra Nesbitt, M.D., M.P.H., Class 2003
Director, Health Department Washington, D.C.

Renee Jenkins Woodard, M.D., Class 1971
Past-President American Academy of Pediatrics

Cheryl Gibson Fountain, M.D., Class 1987
President Michigan State Medical Society